Radical Homemakers, by Shannon Hayes

Okay, I just finished this book, turned it round, picked up a pen and started at the beginning again.

It feels like what I would have always been looking for, if it had occurred to me to be looking. Instead of just cross.

I have hairier legs than just about any man I’ve ever met. I stopped shaving my legs at Uni- now do so for the very occasional seriously formal do, weddings and such. Perhaps every 18 months or so. I shave my armpits a little more often, because it’s easier than trimming with scissors, and I don’t like it too long. I am generally inclined to shout at the telly when it tries to tell me that if I buy the mascara that makes my lashes longer and thicker as well as just black, I will be happy. (Expensive stuff! My wedding makeup cost more than my dress and shoes combined, and then it all wore off early in the day and it never occurred to me to reapply it. I had better things to think about, just like every single other minute of my life, ever.)

We don’t have to buy into all the bullshit. Stuff doesn’t make you happy.

Here’s an interesting website- http://www.givingwhatwecan.org

That might be what makes you happy.

Also, are you able to read a blog with no pictures? I find it difficult, which concerns me.

Going to bed now, but thinking more on this, and reading the book again! (It’s hard to blog at night when you’re a morning person, and hard to blog in the morning when you’re not as much of a morning person as the toddler, who slept in this morning til 5:51- ever so civilised!)

Aug 6:

Looking back at this post, I think I may have mislead some people about this book- it’s really not about hairy legs. I was just firing off thoughts late at night, and that was one thing important to me about the power and pleasure of moving away from the idea that you have to do exactly what every one else does.

I am reading it again, but have put it aside for the moment in favour of a couple things about Home Ed, and also How to Talk so Kids will Listen and Listen so Kids will Talk, (Faber and Maslish,) and also Steven King’s ‘Salem’s Lot- not sure what I was thinking there!

Anyway, read it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Radical Homemakers, by Shannon Hayes

  1. inner pickle says:

    Think i’d like to read that book, too. And yes, I struggle a bit with all-word blogs which worries me too…

  2. Meggles says:

    Believe it or not part of my job is now doing a bit of web design and critically viewing on a design level… the answer is, too much text kills interest. No it is not a reflection of your ability to read! 🙂

  3. I keep trying to reserve that book at my library, but it’s pretty popular so I haven’t gotten it yet.

    I’m anxious to see if I like it, as I *do* shave my legs and I don’t tend to think of myself as feminist. But I do find a return to the home and domestic life to be a strong calling for me, despite having a Facebook page and an iPhone. 🙂

    I found your page through Inner Pickle’s today. And I tend to be text-heavy as well (I like words more than pictures, I think).

  4. Pingback: Dirty Floors | wanderingsue

Leave a Reply

