Daft DIY Home Ed “Builders” Bookshelf.

Henry’s 5 and home-educated, and wants to know “everything about builders.” And his room was bare and drab and lacking in storage- wouldn’t a bookshelf project be just the thing?

I’m a gung-ho DIY-er, lacking only in tools, skill, patience and, some might say, taste. What could conceivably go wrong?

So I did a bit of googling, and found inspiration from the marvellous Jesse at Nine Red. Go check this out, for some serious viewing pleasure- http://ninered.blogspot.co.uk/2013/08/diy-modern-bookshelf.html

Now, I could tell you lots about what we did, and the myriad comedy mistakes we made, (that is to say, things we learned,) but I am ever so happy with the results, and will instead just post a photo of our awesome completed bookshelf.

Image

Hey, I can put photos in posts again! While you’re here, please notice the wall art- the stunning tree my sister painted, and the gorgeous work in blue by Lauren. And don’t notice (the joy of blurry photos!) the paint on the carpet, the drip marks, bits of leaves stuck in the paint, the random holes where we drilled in the wrong places, oh, wait, didn’t I decide to shut up about all that? We love it!

See you soon!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Daft DIY Home Ed “Builders” Bookshelf.

  1. Jesse says:

    Oh my gosh I love it!!! Congratulations! The yellow is so cute. I like that you used poles instead of wood panels for supports, very unique. Awesome tree, too!

Leave a comment